History of the Pearl Button

  • 1866-Lake City's first brick building
  • 1866-Dry Goods Store w/hand pulley wood elevator
  • 1907-Guiterman Shirt Factory
  • 1916-Lake Pepin Pearl Button Co.
  • 1916-Button Cutting factory w/ 25 cutting machines
  • 1920-Funeral Home & casket mfg, tin walls added
  • 1922-Herron Chevrolet & auto repair
  • 1928-Poultry Hatchery
  • 1938-Owned by Wise Hardware Family (storage)
  • 2010-Antique Store, 4 new owners restored building
  • 2010-Est. Historical Society Clamming Display
  • 2010-Pearl Partners LLC created
  • 2015-Expanded Merchandise offering
  • 2015-Opened "Button Cup" coffee shop
  • 2015-New Clamming & LC photo history & videos
  • 2017-Added Art Gallery, remodeled 2nd floor
  • Lake Pepin Pearl Button before Restoration
    Before Restoration
    Pearl Button after Restoration
    After Restoration

    The free educational video and clamming display are open to the public during regular business hours. Located next to the display is the original wooden hand pulley elevator that is still in use by the owners. There are very few working hand pulley elevators in the geographic region. This display is educational for all ages to experience as well as see the 150 year old preserved building.